Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Up and running  (Read 403 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline snadge

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7552
  • Gender: Male
Up and running
« on: 08 December 2016, 20:07:23 »
Advertisement
sorry for the downtime guys... been busy with house move etc, had nothing but one problem after another, its driving my patience into the ground..

ive managed to get my Plusnet up and running today 38Mb/2Mb - says max rate my line can do is 70,000kbps ??  the cab is about 100m away, thought the max speed would be more?  wonder if the poor quality cable run (4 meters) from the JB to socket is to blame
PlusNet Hub One 5Ghz

Offline Den1

  • STAFF - Tech Expert
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1749
  • Gender: Male
    • myallotment.net
Re: Up and running
« Reply #1 on: 08 December 2016, 20:33:03 »
Glad to be back   :)
With regard to plusnet you are on their 40/2 package i guess,  They cap the line at 40 meg which why you are seeing 38 meg.
Congrats on the house by the way   ;D
An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.

Offline snadge

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7552
  • Gender: Male
Re: Up and running
« Reply #2 on: 08 December 2016, 21:16:09 »
Glad to be back   :)
With regard to plusnet you are on their 40/2 package i guess,  They cap the line at 40 meg which why you are seeing 38 meg.
Congrats on the house by the way   ;D

thanks :)

yeah i know why im getting 38mb...im just at a loss why the max data rate isnt in the hundred mark like most people that live close too the cab...well im assuming 100m and less is good enough for 100Mb etc

according to this: http://www.increasebroadbandspeed.co.uk/2013/chart-bt-fttc-vdsl2-speed-against-distance
I would be more than 400m from the cab
PlusNet Hub One 5Ghz

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6024
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Up and running
« Reply #3 on: 08 December 2016, 23:08:35 »
Yo yo yo where have u moved snadge

Offline snadge

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7552
  • Gender: Male
Re: Up and running
« Reply #4 on: 08 December 2016, 23:29:56 »
Yo yo yo where have u moved snadge

into a 2 bed house in Chopwell NE17, I'm living in the bedroom ATM until i get the living room decorated, carpets cleaned & get a sofa ... im busy de-lousing the cupboard thats inbetween the living room and kitchen where the last tenants kept dogs, ive stripped it n steam cleaned it and it still absolutely stinks, so im going to paint the walls, cladding, cupboards and floor...and if it still smells then im getting the landlord involved as im not living with a stinking cupboard thats smelling the house out.

its a small village in nice woodland area, neighbours are quiet too & my sister, brother-in-law and 4 nephews / 1 niece live nearby. I got it off a friend who i met working at Currys who has properties.

its a nice enough house, just needs some loving attention, all fitted kitchen with appliances built into the cupboards (Dish washer, washer/dryer, 2 freezers, fridge, hob, oven, microwave) - all windows have blinds up too, so all i need is sofa, bed, coffee table, vacuum cleaner and some pictures etc...as well as re-decorating
PlusNet Hub One 5Ghz

Offline Roco

  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2225
  • Gender: Male
Re: Up and running
« Reply #5 on: 09 December 2016, 04:47:31 »
Yeah, we are back  :)
Chopwell looks good , surrounded by great scenery ,  into a house with 2 bedrooms ? bet  one becomes a computer room ? ,  :D, that was the first room I made habitual on moving into near derelict house  , Unfortunately
Plus net failed to  reconnect the phone or  broadband as they coudn't find the property by address or post code , it took them 2 weeks to admit defeat , BT took 1 day and did a retrograde  lift and shift for free  within 2 days , so not a plusnet fan boy ,
line length, I am about 400m get  51 Mbps x 9.25  , 24/7  been told I could get around +72 Mbps .   but don't need it & the extra cost ,
loving the 9.25 Mbps upload now I have discovered cloud storage for pictures ,

Offline Stevan

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Gender: Male
Re: Up and running
« Reply #6 on: 09 December 2016, 13:19:07 »
Well done Snadge, hope it works out for you long term.   :)
...who said that?

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6024
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Up and running
« Reply #7 on: 09 December 2016, 16:47:52 »
Plusnet have been fantastic for me, I had a problem about a month ago and they sorted it straight away

Offline snadge

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7552
  • Gender: Male
Re: Up and running
« Reply #8 on: 09 December 2016, 18:29:36 »
what problem did you have thomasjc1?

i didnt get my router until 2 days after it was live and i had to ring up to get them to post another as the 1st one never came - i got my 49.99 phone line install/activation fee back though which was good of them as the BT Engineer said the line was active and fine...just removed off the system, i told plusnet this so they refunded it.

I could totally do with the 18mb upload - 1.7Mb is slow, mind i dont file share as much as i used to as i stream a lot on kodi instead, but like to have plenty surplus upload credit on IPtorrents and im down to just 12Gb surplus

thats why im asking about my MAX RATE being 70Mb, as im within 100m of the cab it should be over 100Mb ... unless my line quality is poor (BT engineer said it was ok) or everyone in the street has fibre (likely as your talking 2-3Mb for ADSL in this street) and its crosstalk from other fibre users causing it, dunno if i would sign up for 80/20 if max data rate is 70,000 - im likely to get 65Mbps from that...and that would drop as more users sign up or upgrade

i got it on offer at 23 a month for 18 months then full price (33) after (that includes phone line)

EDIT: max data rate has gone down slightly

1. Product name:   Plusnet Hub
2. Serial number:   +081441+NQ64407544
3. Firmware version:   Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.226 Last updated 08/12/16
4. Board version:   Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime:   0 days, 17:56:37
6. Data rate:   2000 / 39993
7. Maximum data rate:   22820 / 69817
8. Noise margin:   20.3 / 15.1
9. Line attenuation:   20.8 / 15.9
10. Signal attenuation:   20.7 / 16.0

theres talk on kitz about G.INP which provides better noise cancellation techniques, if you get a compatible router its supposed to give you better latency and faster connection. the PlusNet Hub One is NOT a compatible router as its a BT HH5A (but white) - the BT HH5B IS a G.INP compat router
PlusNet Hub One 5Ghz

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6024
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Up and running
« Reply #9 on: 09 December 2016, 22:30:24 »
My speeds went from 74 to around 34 so had engineer out and he done something at the cabinet and all was good. I don't know what he did as I wasn't at home when he came

Offline snadge

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7552
  • Gender: Male
Re: Up and running
« Reply #10 on: 09 December 2016, 23:28:05 »
My speeds went from 74 to around 34 so had engineer out and he done something at the cabinet and all was good. I don't know what he did as I wasn't at home when he came

what router you using?  is it G.INP compatible? didnt you used to get 77Mbps?
PlusNet Hub One 5Ghz

Offline thar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 843
Re: Up and running
« Reply #11 on: 10 December 2016, 20:38:17 »
My stats on Plusnet

1.Product Name:HomeHub52.Serial number:+076284+14020087733
Firmware version:v0.07.06.09028-BT (Type B)
Last updated 27/10/20164.Board version:015.
VDSL uptime:4 days, 06:18:426.
Data Rate:19999 / 767647.
Maximum Data Rate:27497 / 773598.
Noise Margin:14.9 / 6.49.
Line Attenuation:14.1 / 13.410.
Signal Attenuation:0.0 / 0.0

Overall including phone line and broadband I'm paying 27.99 a month. I have to re-negotiate next June. Have to say, the service has been faultless. I hear many complaints about Plusnet CS, but I can't complain as I've rarely had to speak to them.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Offline KRW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 876
  • Gender: Male
Re: Up and running
« Reply #12 on: 10 December 2016, 23:21:47 »
My Origin stats are 831 hours
Port                  Status     TxPkts           RxPkts    Collisions      Tx B/s    Rx B/s
WANPPPoE                       382960444    647524504  0              1350       548         
WLAN b/g/n       600M       54920749       24652850  0              101         1268       
WLAN a/n/ac     1300M      46859033       21978287  0              376         211         
VDSL Link
Downstream      Upstream
Link Rate              79524 Kbps         19999 Kbps
 
Line Attenuation          D 11.6dB     U 4.1dB
 
Noise Margin               D 6.3dB        U 6.6dB
VDSL2 Profile     Profile 17a

Only once spoke to Origin CS which was to be put on 80/20 from 40/20

What does D0, D1 and D2, U0, U2, U3 and U4 mean
Windows 10 Home 64bit    Netgear D7000
Down/Up Connect Speed  80/20 Mbp (max speed 70Mb/19Mb) updated
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=1483655240613837255

Offline snadge

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7552
  • Gender: Male
Re: Up and running
« Reply #13 on: 11 December 2016, 14:21:05 »
My stats on Plusnet

1.Product Name:HomeHub52.Serial number:+076284+14020087733
Firmware version:v0.07.06.09028-BT (Type B)
Last updated 27/10/20164.Board version:015.
VDSL uptime:4 days, 06:18:426.
Data Rate:19999 / 767647.
Maximum Data Rate:27497 / 773598.
Noise Margin:14.9 / 6.49.
Line Attenuation:14.1 / 13.410.
Signal Attenuation:0.0 / 0.0

Overall including phone line and broadband I'm paying 27.99 a month. I have to re-negotiate next June. Have to say, the service has been faultless. I hear many complaints about Plusnet CS, but I can't complain as I've rarely had to speak to them.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

how u getn 80/20 for 27.99..?? is that discounted? cos im paying 23 for 18 months then 33 for 40/2

also my Line Atten and Noise Margin are both 15b.. wonder if my noise margin will go down? (or is that indicative of crosstalk from other fttc users?)
6. Data rate:   2000 / 39993
7. Maximum data rate:   22947 / 69792
8. Noise margin:   20.2 / 15.0
9. Line attenuation:   20.8 / 15.9
10. Signal attenuation:   20.6 / 15.9
11. Data sent/received:   3.9 GB / 3.1 GB

@ KRW - D and U is Downstream/Upstream

edit:  these stats dont look too bad for my post code, it says speeds of 66Mbps and 75Mbps have been logged on my post code
http://labs.thinkbroadband.com/local/?postcode=NE17%207DG
PlusNet Hub One 5Ghz

Offline thar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 843
Re: Up and running
« Reply #14 on: 11 December 2016, 21:02:09 »
Yeah, I'm on a retention deal until next June. Once the deal ends the fibre will cost me 19.99 instead of the 11.50 I'm paying now. I'm hoping another pricematch deal might come up by then.

Isn't the reason your noise margin is so high as you're on 38 Meg?  ie you have loads to spare if you ever went to 80 Meg? Mines 6db.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Offline snadge

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7552
  • Gender: Male
Re: Up and running
« Reply #15 on: 11 December 2016, 21:52:04 »
Yeah, I'm on a retention deal until next June. Once the deal ends the fibre will cost me 19.99 instead of the 11.50 I'm paying now. I'm hoping another pricematch deal might come up by then.

Isn't the reason your noise margin is so high as you're on 38 Meg?  ie you have loads to spare if you ever went to 80 Meg? Mines 6db.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

I just hope its working out that max rate from the 15db noise margin - i know VDSL is a lot "louder" than ADSL (as it uses much more bandwidth) and with crosstalk being a problem then higher noise margins may be set because of that, the 40 rate is set by the provider (.i.e changing it from 15dv to 6db wouldnt give it a boost from 39999 to 79999, that is capped regardless, I would have thought I would have a much bigger noise margin if it were capped by that

had a bloody powercut 1 day after being live!!

i might upgrade later on, TBH im happy with 37Mb down (as i stream my movies these days), its just the upload is poor, so i can pay an extra 5 for 65/18
PlusNet Hub One 5Ghz

Offline thar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 843
Re: Up and running
« Reply #16 on: 12 December 2016, 21:30:21 »
The main reason I chose 80 Meg fibre was there's usually all 3 of us using the connection at the same time and Be's 24 Meg (18 Meg sync), which I was on prior to getting fibre wasn't cutting it. The 20 Meg upload on Plusnet comes in handy though.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk


Offline KRW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 876
  • Gender: Male
Re: Up and running
« Reply #17 on: 12 December 2016, 21:37:16 »
My reason also is that at our house there is at least two or three streaming, TV, laptop or PC or both. As well as my eldest is online gaming along with uploading game play recording.  And not forgetting there are five mobiles.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Windows 10 Home 64bit    Netgear D7000
Down/Up Connect Speed  80/20 Mbp (max speed 70Mb/19Mb) updated
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=1483655240613837255

 

Powered by EzPortal
anything