Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: anyone tried the new speedtest?  (Read 1439 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

snadge

  • Guest
anyone tried the new speedtest?
« on: 17 April 2014, 16:23:51 »
Advertisement
and is it consistent for you?

its the same test but new code (detects better servers) and black in color

it gives me ok results of 17.1Mb and 1.1Mb up


I can use speedtest.net's 'mini speedtester' but that runs local from our host, if it got hammered we'd use up our usage and slow the website down during testing...

Offline gannite6364

  • Full-Time Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
  • Gender: Male
Re: anyone tried the new speedtest?
« Reply #1 on: 19 April 2014, 08:35:26 »
Snadge just tried it.
on here down 7.05mbps up 1.32mbps
talktalk down 7.15mbps up 0.85mbps
BT down 7.48mbps up0.87mbps
all over wifi.

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Must be an Admin?
  • ******
  • Posts: 6028
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: anyone tried the new speedtest?
« Reply #2 on: 19 April 2014, 14:30:04 »
Rubbish for me

Offline Inactive

  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1709
  • Gender: Male
Re: anyone tried the new speedtest?
« Reply #3 on: 19 April 2014, 15:59:08 »
Complete rubbish for me as well. :(

It shows 9.71 download and my maximum at my Market 1 exchange is well below that at around 7.

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Must be an Admin?
  • ******
  • Posts: 6028
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: anyone tried the new speedtest?
« Reply #4 on: 19 April 2014, 16:01:04 »
The first time was 48 then the next one was 142  lol:1

snadge

  • Guest
Re: anyone tried the new speedtest?
« Reply #5 on: 19 April 2014, 20:33:17 »
well its better than the last one... open to suggestions

its using the maidenhead server , probs same one as speedtest.net uses but dunno

sorry its not good enough but without funding i cant get a decent one

steve195527

  • Guest
Re: anyone tried the new speedtest?
« Reply #6 on: 19 April 2014, 20:42:42 »
well its better than the last one... open to suggestions

its using the maidenhead server , probs same one as speedtest.net uses but dunno

sorry its not good enough but without funding i cant get a decent one
we don't really need one on site,can't you just provide a link to  btw site or speednet or similar?

snadge

  • Guest
Re: anyone tried the new speedtest?
« Reply #7 on: 19 April 2014, 21:02:10 »
well its better than the last one... open to suggestions

its using the maidenhead server , probs same one as speedtest.net uses but dunno

sorry its not good enough but without funding i cant get a decent one
we don't really need one on site,can't you just provide a link to  btw site or speednet or similar?

I could but think it would be better if we had one running directly on the site/page - i will have  look and see if theres any other options available

steve195527

  • Guest
Re: anyone tried the new speedtest?
« Reply #8 on: 19 April 2014, 21:34:17 »
well its better than the last one... open to suggestions

its using the maidenhead server , probs same one as speedtest.net uses but dunno

sorry its not good enough but without funding i cant get a decent one
we don't really need one on site,can't you just provide a link to  btw site or speednet or similar?

I could but think it would be better if we had one running directly on the site/page - i will have  look and see if theres any other options available
doesn't one running on the site use bandwidth that can be ill afforded?thought you were having issues with host about exceeding the allowance a bit back?

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Must be an Admin?
  • ******
  • Posts: 6028
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: anyone tried the new speedtest?
« Reply #9 on: 19 April 2014, 21:37:34 »
That was with the other hosts

Offline Stevan

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
  • Gender: Male
Re: anyone tried the new speedtest?
« Reply #10 on: 19 April 2014, 22:08:02 »
...who said that?

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Must be an Admin?
  • ******
  • Posts: 6028
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: anyone tried the new speedtest?
« Reply #11 on: 19 April 2014, 22:12:50 »
You beat me to it Stevan I just found that, is it any good snadge

snadge

  • Guest
Re: anyone tried the new speedtest?
« Reply #12 on: 20 April 2014, 00:00:56 »
the speedtest mini runs from our site (the downloading comes from our site..not some other server) , I dunno if how much of an affect this would have on our MEMORY usage (as our current hosts reckon were using 500Mb and have upped the limit to 600Mb - but I dont think we are and neither do SMF Support)

I dunno what our hosts servers are like (fast enough to support fibre speeds) ...if we had loads of people trying to run speedtests it would eat up our monthly allowance and slow down the website (and maybe push the memory usage over) - and, were on shared hosting so would probs be erratic...

our best bet is an 'external' test that runs in the page like the one we have

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Must be an Admin?
  • ******
  • Posts: 6028
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: anyone tried the new speedtest?
« Reply #13 on: 20 April 2014, 00:12:04 »
Oh yes it was with these hosts I forgot about that I stand corrected Steve

 

Powered by EzPortal
anything