Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...  (Read 54447 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline CurlyWhirly

  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2526
  • Gender: Male
Advertisement
... and I'm impressed  8)

Quote
Downstream maximum 27.5 Mbps
Upstream maximum 5.7 Mbps

Much better than the 3 Mbps / 800 Kbps sync I get now !

One thing though is there's no minimum speed estimate but this could be because my line isn't live yet ?




[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline CurlyWhirly

  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2526
  • Gender: Male
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #1 on: 12 March 2013, 20:23:04 »
Only 6 months to wait unless my upgrade date gets put back yet again !?

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6024
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #2 on: 12 March 2013, 20:25:21 »
how far is your little green cabinet from your house looks like this


Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6024
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #3 on: 12 March 2013, 20:29:53 »
This will tell you what number cabinet you are connected to

http://fttc-check.alc.im/

Offline CurlyWhirly

  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2526
  • Gender: Male
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #4 on: 12 March 2013, 20:33:04 »
how far is your little green cabinet from your house
I don't know which green cabinet my line is connected to but the only green cabinet in my area ia around a quarter of a mile away so I assume I'm connected to that one ?!

I go past it on the way to my local Spar shop.

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6024
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #5 on: 12 March 2013, 20:35:41 »
well find the number you are connected to (with link above)then go on street view find the cab you are on about and see if it says your number on it, if not have a drive round on streetview and see if you can find it

Offline CurlyWhirly

  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2526
  • Gender: Male
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #6 on: 12 March 2013, 20:39:28 »
This will tell you what number cabinet you are connected to

http://fttc-check.alc.im/
A handy link. Bookmarked for future reference, thanks.

I am connected to cabinet P9 where ever that is !?

I think I'll check that green cabinet that I know of tomorrow just to see if it has P9 identification on it.



Good news for me:

Quote
Probability 100%
  8)

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6024
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #7 on: 12 March 2013, 21:42:41 »
Uplift is the multiplier for speed increase. For example if you are currently on 4 Mbps and the uplift is 10 then you might expect around 40 Mbps.

your uplift is 11.05

Offline snadge

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7560
  • Gender: Male
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #8 on: 13 March 2013, 01:35:48 »
that link only works on FTTC enabled exchanges I think? or exchange in progress of being enabled - doesnt work for me?

anyway, how does this uplift work exactly? you times your current ADSL speed by 10 and thats what your likely to get on FTTC? if thats the case then I would get 160Mbps lol?? my cab isnt close enough for that I dont think - mine is circa 200m as the crow flies, i estimate around 250m total - what speeds should I expect from that Tom (our resident fibre expert :) )
PlusNet Hub One 5Ghz

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6024
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #9 on: 13 March 2013, 05:33:53 »
Yes it's only for fttc  that link. The uplift for me was 3.63 (the closer you are to the cab the lower the uplift)so I dunno how accurate that is and I can hit my cab with a good throw. All the sites for me say 80/20 which is about right. If you can unlock the bt modem that will tell you the max attainable rate for your line. Typical I get the eci modem which is not easy to unlock.


The speed of your connection will vary depending on the distance to the fibre cabinet that serves your house. If you know roughly how far the cabinet is, you should be able to calculate the speed you should receive based on
the figures in the table below.

Distance to cabinet (metres)   Estimated connection speed   Cumulative%'age of premises at this distance
 100m                                          100 Mbps                                                  5%
 200m                                            65 Mbps                                                  20%
 300m                                            45 Mbps                                                  30%
 400m                                            42 Mbps                                                  45%
 500m                                            38 Mbps                                                  60%
 600m                                            35 Mbps                                                  70%
 700m                                            32 Mbps                                                  75%
 800m                                            28 Mbps                                                  80%
 900m                                            25 Mbps                                                  85%
1000m                                           24 Mbps                                                  90%
1250m                                           17 Mbps                                                  95%
1500m                                           15 Mbps                                                  98%

See the max attainable speed below


Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6024
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #10 on: 13 March 2013, 14:02:20 »
This will tell you what number cabinet you are connected to

http://fttc-check.alc.im/
A handy link. Bookmarked for future reference, thanks.

I am connected to cabinet P9 where ever that is !?

I think I'll check that green cabinet that I know of tomorrow just to see if it has P9 identification on it.



Good news for me:

Quote
Probability 100%
  8)


was it that cabinet curly if not give me your postcode and ill try and find it

i found a few which cant see the numbers on i seen a 13 and there is a new one by the post office in bargoed

The cabinets do seem do be like rocking horse s..t rare as hell lol:1


Offline CurlyWhirly

  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2526
  • Gender: Male
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #11 on: 13 March 2013, 15:55:34 »
This will tell you what number cabinet you are connected to

http://fttc-check.alc.im/
A handy link. Bookmarked for future reference, thanks.

I am connected to cabinet P9 where ever that is !?

I think I'll check that green cabinet that I know of tomorrow just to see if it has P9 identification on it.


was it that cabinet curly if not give me your postcode and ill try and find it

i found a few which cant see the numbers on i seen a 13 and there is a new one by the post office in bargoed
I went past the cabinet (and stopped * ) on the way home from work and could only see the number 8 and no mention of the P as the checker said I was connected to cabinet P9 ?

I'm sending you my postcode by PM ok ?

Thanks.



* there was a lollipop woman nearby and she looked at me stupid as I got off my bike and walked up to the cabinet, read the number on it and jumped back on the bike  lol:1

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6024
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #12 on: 13 March 2013, 15:57:18 »
yes no prob mate ill see if i can find it

Offline CurlyWhirly

  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2526
  • Gender: Male
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #13 on: 13 March 2013, 16:27:58 »
yes no prob mate ill see if i can find it
Cheers.

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6024
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #14 on: 13 March 2013, 17:22:10 »
Well this is hard im finding cabs but not the right ones hmmmmm i will complete this mission

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6024
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #15 on: 13 March 2013, 21:28:51 »
I have found 4,13, some in the 20's and 30's I WILL find this cab lol:1

Offline CurlyWhirly

  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2526
  • Gender: Male
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #16 on: 13 March 2013, 21:53:56 »
I have found 4,13, some in the 20's and 30's I WILL find this cab lol:1
Don't worry if you can't find cabinet 9  ;)

Would the addition of a 'P' make any difference i.e. the checker said I was connected to cabinet P9 ?

I wonder what it stands for ?

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6024
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #17 on: 13 March 2013, 22:01:15 »
I don't know what the p stands for but mine is p14. The thing is WHEN I find it its not going to be 100% it's going to be the right number 9 because there is another exchange quite close to you and that could have a number 9 cab running off that exchange. I will find this. Some cabinets out of the bargoed exchange have got fibre cabinets so I read just not enabled yet

Offline CurlyWhirly

  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2526
  • Gender: Male
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #18 on: 13 March 2013, 22:36:26 »
it's going to be the right number 9 because there is another exchange quite close to you
Quite close !? It's only around a mile away compared to 3+ miles for the Bargoed exchange.

It's the Blackwood exchange and if I was connected to it instead of the Bargoed exchange, I would have much faster speeds on ADSL  :(


Some cabinets out of the Bargoed exchange have got fibre cabinets so I read just not enabled yet
That's surprising as the upgrade date is over 6 months away !

I wonder how long it takes for a cabinet to be upgraded ?

Having said this perhaps existing cabinets can't be upgraded and new fibre cabinets have to be built ?

Offline Thomasjc1

  • STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6024
  • Gender: Male
    • The Tech Forum
Re: Found out a bit more about the speeds I should get on FTTC ...
« Reply #19 on: 13 March 2013, 22:55:37 »
What happens is a new cabinet goes in next to or opposite your number 9 cabinet ( not to replace)and you will no it's the fibre cabinet because it will have vents. There were loads of different teams of blokes over a space of a few days putting the cabinet and fibre in at my cabinet

 

Powered by EzPortal