Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Unforeseen charges on my mobile bill  (Read 22331 times)

Offline CurlyWhirly

• Super-Hero Member
Unforeseen charges on my mobile bill
« on: 01 January 2013, 20:12:25 »
Advertisement
I am new to smartphones as you probably know and I was surprised to learn that I had had a few quid of text charges added to my account.

I went to an option on my mobile called Vodafone.

It is an icon of a green microchip with a gear in front of it (usually used to signify settings)

I happened to click on a few options like Horoscope, sport, news, etc and a few minutes ago I had a few emails saying that I would be charged 12p for each txt message sent  :o

The email(s) also said that I can stop future txt messages by texting the word stop to a 5 digit number.

I did this on each of the emails and I'm just hoping that I don't have any further charges added to my account.

I had no idea that just clicking on links meant that I was subscribing to a txt msg service !

It doesn't help when you get the confirmation email(s) coming through a couple of days later as in the meantime you have been charged.

Rant over.

Offline CurlyWhirly

• Super-Hero Member
Re: Unforeseen charges on my mobile bill
« Reply #1 on: 01 January 2013, 20:13:54 »
Also as the option was associated with Vodafone I am even more astonished that Vodafone would associate themselves with such underhand tactics.

Offline CurlyWhirly

• Super-Hero Member
« Reply #2 on: 01 January 2013, 21:05:30 »
Mmm.. an icon has appeared on my mobile by the name of Google Play Books.

It isn't listed as an application in Task Manager.

Anyone know how to get rid of it ?

Thanks.

Offline Thomasjc1

• STAFF - Administrator
  • Super-Hero Member
    • The Tech Forum
« Reply #3 on: 01 January 2013, 21:33:20 »