The Tech Forum - Tech Support & Chat for Computers, Broadband, Windows, Networking, Phones, TV's, Gaming Rigs etc ...basically anything tech-related

THE TECH FORUMS => Broadband => Topic started by: KRW on 17 June 2015, 16:58:39

Title: Vodafone
Post by: KRW on 17 June 2015, 16:58:39
Vodafone have laid piping across the bottom of our street but not to the bt cabinet at the next junction. Instead they veered off heading to I suppose to the bt   exchange. Will to investigate are Vodafone setting up their own land line and broadband network. It was not a openreach operation.

Sent from my XT1092 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Vodafone
Post by: KRW on 17 June 2015, 19:50:34
Followed the trench to four cabinets at a cell tower. Presume Vodafone are running fibre to their transmitters.



Found this looks like they're doing it here as well.
  By Josh Taylor (http://www.zdnet.com/meet-the-team/au/josh-taylor/) |            August 31, 2014 -- 22:00 GMT (23:00 BST) | Topic: NBN (http://www.zdnet.com/topic/nbn/)
  Vodafone is using National Broadband Network (NBN) fibre to supply backhaul to a number of towers in Australia, after years of lobbying the government-owned company for such a service.

They are with O2 http://blog.vodafone.co.uk/2012/11/20/better-coverage-fewer-masts-your-complete-guide-to-our-network-joint-venture/ (http://blog.vodafone.co.uk/2012/11/20/better-coverage-fewer-masts-your-complete-guide-to-our-network-joint-venture/)

No wonder Three are buying O2

Sent from my XT1092 using Tapatalk