Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: added novice corner for those noobs :)  (Read 857 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fudgietheoriginal

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: added novice corner for those noobs :)
« Reply #20 on: 17 April 2017, 19:02:22 »
Advertisement
What happens is IF an Anti Virus is clever enough to detect the embedded activated license (in illegal copies) it removes it and your OS reports you have 3 days to activate , then it wont let you open stuff or something like that once logged in...

You also run the risk of embedded malware in illegal copies.

since windows 8/8.1/8.2/10  MS have been running something called TELEMETRY, it is this that causes the extended 'writing' too SSD/HDD - its recording everything you do and happening for diagnostics and better experiences in future (and sends it all to MS)... I have disabled as much as I can...spybot has a great free tool that stops most of it but best find a page about it first and doing all the manual stuff in settings then using that tool



Wow, thankyou:1
So gone are the days when you could just delete the chipset drivers and change out the Mobo and cpu?..Bummer. :(

Some how I don't think MS's first priority is only dodgy windows copy's.
MS is in a race and they want to get to the top of the hill first, before the switch is flicked.

Offline Roco

  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2381
  • Gender: Male
Re: added novice corner for those noobs :)
« Reply #21 on: 18 April 2017, 21:36:01 »
Think you are right Fudgie, gone are the "good old days " when you could borrow a mates original o/s , download a key gen ,( not that I ever did  ;) ) , but lots of folk did ,   I always played it honest hence Mr Gates made a few bob  , while I rode a bicycle to work in the rain  :(
BTW ,the  1bit link on telemetry  also apples to updated Win 7 ,  personally I have no reason to fear m/s 'logging my online activities , all boring stuff and if a human has to read it they would find it beat any pill for a good nights sleep  :blank:

Offline 1bit

  • STAFF - Technical Expert
  • Must be an Admin?
  • ********
  • Posts: 8365
  • Gender: Male
    • Tech Forum
Re: added novice corner for those noobs :)
« Reply #22 on: 01 May 2017, 22:37:36 »
thankyou:1 Den1
XP pro used to be my favourite O/S until win7pro. :)

snap...now win10 i love apart from its telemetry...

What would you say 10's best features were for you?
I will upgrade my O/S eventually but not ATM.

sorry fudge i didnt see this, been busy l8ly

Windows 10 is like a cross between Windows 7, 8 and Linux (design), its quite fast and benchmarks have proven it is definitely the faster better OS for gaming...so that says a lot about resource usage on it, seems a lot 'lighter' on the system. and TBH I do like having the tiles on the start menu and access to the store, I do use SOME usefull apps.

The only thing I hate is the constant writing to the hard-drive by diagnostics and telemetry, it never stops...it might be small amounts such as 10-20KB's per second on average, I would rather it didnt spy on me, report everything I do back to MS....so Ive disabled all that - the diagnostic writes are almost impossible to stop... turning off diagnostics doesnt stop W10 constantly logging everything to help aid diagnostics.
PlusNet VDSL Fibre 40/2
BT HomeHub 5B (Broadcom 63168) <---> ECI Dslam (Lantiq M41a)

Offline Den1

  • STAFF - Tech Expert
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1821
  • Gender: Male
    • myallotment.net
Re: added novice corner for those noobs :)
« Reply #23 on: 02 May 2017, 15:53:58 »
thankyou:1 Den1
XP pro used to be my favourite O/S until win7pro. :)

snap...now win10 i love apart from its telemetry...

What would you say 10's best features were for you?
I will upgrade my O/S eventually but not ATM.

sorry fudge i didnt see this, been busy l8ly

Windows 10 is like a cross between Windows 7, 8 and Linux (design), its quite fast and benchmarks have proven it is definitely the faster better OS for gaming...so that says a lot about resource usage on it, seems a lot 'lighter' on the system. and TBH I do like having the tiles on the start menu and access to the store, I do use SOME usefull apps.

The only thing I hate is the constant writing to the hard-drive by diagnostics and telemetry, it never stops...it might be small amounts such as 10-20KB's per second on average, I would rather it didnt spy on me, report everything I do back to MS....so Ive disabled all that - the diagnostic writes are almost impossible to stop... turning off diagnostics doesnt stop W10 constantly logging everything to help aid diagnostics.
What would be even better if windows supported drives bigger than 2Tb out of the box like Linux already does   ;) 
An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.

Offline 1bit

  • STAFF - Technical Expert
  • Must be an Admin?
  • ********
  • Posts: 8365
  • Gender: Male
    • Tech Forum
Re: added novice corner for those noobs :)
« Reply #24 on: 02 May 2017, 16:21:43 »
thankyou:1 Den1
XP pro used to be my favourite O/S until win7pro. :)

snap...now win10 i love apart from its telemetry...


What would you say 10's best features were for you?
I will upgrade my O/S eventually but not ATM.

sorry fudge i didnt see this, been busy l8ly

Windows 10 is like a cross between Windows 7, 8 and Linux (design), its quite fast and benchmarks have proven it is definitely the faster better OS for gaming...so that says a lot about resource usage on it, seems a lot 'lighter' on the system. and TBH I do like having the tiles on the start menu and access to the store, I do use SOME usefull apps.

The only thing I hate is the constant writing to the hard-drive by diagnostics and telemetry, it never stops...it might be small amounts such as 10-20KB's per second on average, I would rather it didnt spy on me, report everything I do back to MS....so Ive disabled all that - the diagnostic writes are almost impossible to stop... turning off diagnostics doesnt stop W10 constantly logging everything to help aid diagnostics.
What would be even better if windows supported drives bigger than 2Tb out of the box like Linux already does   ;)


doesnt it? I thought that issue was resolved years ago?  what with companies selling 4TB drives etc... ive not seen anyone asking how to get them working on any forums? in fact I dont even know what the fix is? can you indulge me?
PlusNet VDSL Fibre 40/2
BT HomeHub 5B (Broadcom 63168) <---> ECI Dslam (Lantiq M41a)

Offline Den1

  • STAFF - Tech Expert
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1821
  • Gender: Male
    • myallotment.net
Re: added novice corner for those noobs :)
« Reply #25 on: 02 May 2017, 16:39:45 »
In order for windows to see drives bigger than 2.2TB you have to format the drive using the GPT file system, windows wont do this by default. booting requires a motherboard that supports UEFI  most boards built after 2011 do anyway
An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.

Offline 1bit

  • STAFF - Technical Expert
  • Must be an Admin?
  • ********
  • Posts: 8365
  • Gender: Male
    • Tech Forum
Re: added novice corner for those noobs :)
« Reply #26 on: 02 May 2017, 17:27:58 »
In order for windows to see drives bigger than 2.2TB you have to format the drive using the GPT file system, windows wont do this by default. booting requires a motherboard that supports UEFI  most boards built after 2011 do anyway

even now on windows 10? using a UEFI board I would have to format GPT if I had a 3TB+ drive?

ive done a quick bit of research (really quick lol) and it what ive seen is it appears to be limited to windows 7 and older motherboards... Im assuming if you have a UEFI (newer mobo) and windows 10 it should recognize the 4TB drive as 4TB once active and formatted NTFS.... ??  am I right or am I wrong?

do you still have to format it as GPT?

goes this GPT file system have any downsides compared to NTFS>? (such as being able to store files bigger than 4GB etc)

edit: was just going off this from tom hardware:

Quote
Winly said:
if the hard drive is new, remember you have to format the drive and set it to GPT if you are in windows 7, so you can use the whole 4TB as 1 drive.
PlusNet VDSL Fibre 40/2
BT HomeHub 5B (Broadcom 63168) <---> ECI Dslam (Lantiq M41a)

Offline Den1

  • STAFF - Tech Expert
  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1821
  • Gender: Male
    • myallotment.net
Re: added novice corner for those noobs :)
« Reply #27 on: 02 May 2017, 17:56:43 »
Quote
even now on windows 10? using a UEFI board I would have to format GPT if I had a 3TB+ drive?
Yes
Quote
m assuming if you have a UEFI (newer mobo) and windows 10 it should recognize the 4TB drive as 4TB once active and formatted NTFS.... ??  am I right or am I wrong?
Wrong the drive still needs to be formatted to GPT to access full capacity

This applies to boot drives and storage drives from win 10 down to vista
An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.

Offline 1bit

  • STAFF - Technical Expert
  • Must be an Admin?
  • ********
  • Posts: 8365
  • Gender: Male
    • Tech Forum
Re: added novice corner for those noobs :)
« Reply #28 on: 02 May 2017, 19:30:34 »
Quote
even now on windows 10? using a UEFI board I would have to format GPT if I had a 3TB+ drive?
Yes
Quote
m assuming if you have a UEFI (newer mobo) and windows 10 it should recognize the 4TB drive as 4TB once active and formatted NTFS.... ??  am I right or am I wrong?
Wrong the drive still needs to be formatted to GPT to access full capacity

This applies to boot drives and storage drives from win 10 down to vista

well ... learn something new every day hehe - never had to deal with it, now I know

thanks Den  :afro:
PlusNet VDSL Fibre 40/2
BT HomeHub 5B (Broadcom 63168) <---> ECI Dslam (Lantiq M41a)

Offline Roco

  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2381
  • Gender: Male
Re: added novice corner for those noobs :)
« Reply #29 on: 05 June 2017, 01:02:27 »
as newbie to win 10 I will be back  lol:1
first question , why do I have tp pay M/S to watch donated 25p charity shops  DVD's , just installed VLC
for free , does all I need ,
2nd question  why did I have to jump through hoops to make firefox my default browser ,
M/S is truly ticking me off ,  >:(

Offline 1bit

  • STAFF - Technical Expert
  • Must be an Admin?
  • ********
  • Posts: 8365
  • Gender: Male
    • Tech Forum
Re: added novice corner for those noobs :)
« Reply #30 on: 05 June 2017, 18:41:18 »
ha!
 so it IS w10 with that DEFAULT bug and not me...  ive noticed ever since its release the DEFAULT buttons in settings barely ever work...to set them you have to do it the old way through control panel and physically assign X program to X file type(s) - mostly i had to this with my browser too (Opera), anything else I just use the properties section on the files (Open With :- _ choose program)

MS removed DVD player from windows... I prefer MPC with K-Lite codec pack as its better PQ and much more options, VLC is good but i find it a bit soft on the image with some slight blurring on movement... but thats just me
PlusNet VDSL Fibre 40/2
BT HomeHub 5B (Broadcom 63168) <---> ECI Dslam (Lantiq M41a)

Offline Roco

  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2381
  • Gender: Male
Re: added novice corner for those noobs :)
« Reply #31 on: 06 June 2017, 00:28:13 »
ha!
 so it IS w10 with that DEFAULT bug and not me...  ive noticed ever since its release the DEFAULT buttons in settings barely ever work...to set them you have to do it the old way through control panel and physically assign X program to X file type(s) - mostly i had to this with my browser too (Opera), anything else I just use the properties section on the files (Open With :- _ choose program)

MS removed DVD player from windows... I prefer MPC with K-Lite codec pack as its better PQ and much more options, VLC is good but i find it a bit soft on the image with some slight blurring on movement... but thats just me
,it may take some time
Just had the 10 big update , ( dont turn off ,it may take some "Yawn" time ) it did  ???, still not fond of 10 , my M/S usb  wireless mouse has now lost changble button functions ,( no longer supported )  , do miss the side button  for assigned magnifier , ( photo stuff )   but going to stick with 10 , I grumbled the same way each time I  moved from 95 -M.e.-XP  :-*  to 7  -now 10  :D
p,S my 7 year old win 7 pc is now in my lounge as a entertainment centre  ,now  sort of semi retired , like me  8-) , still has internet via power line adapters  with a speed drop from 51.5 Mbps  to 36 Mbps

Offline 1bit

  • STAFF - Technical Expert
  • Must be an Admin?
  • ********
  • Posts: 8365
  • Gender: Male
    • Tech Forum
Re: added novice corner for those noobs :)
« Reply #32 on: 06 June 2017, 21:15:08 »
theres a shortcut for magnifier, dunno if its any use?

 Windows logo key‌ and +

what brand of mouse is it and how did u normally go about assign 'X'button to mouse button?

im sure theres some software that will allow you to do that and more with your mouse
PlusNet VDSL Fibre 40/2
BT HomeHub 5B (Broadcom 63168) <---> ECI Dslam (Lantiq M41a)

Offline Roco

  • Super-Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2381
  • Gender: Male
Re: added novice corner for those noobs :)
« Reply #33 on: 07 June 2017, 00:36:13 »
theres a shortcut for magnifier, dunno if its any use?

 Windows logo key‌ and +

what brand of mouse is it and how did u normally go about assign 'X'button to mouse button?

im sure theres some software that will allow you to do that and more with your mouse
thanks  1bit ,  now got the M/S mouse sorted  ,the win 7 64 bit driver works OK on 10
=control panel =  mouse .now shows  the intelimouse 2  with optional programmable  buttons
 got my  maginify thumb button back ,  so life aint so bad after all  :)  .

 

Powered by EzPortal